What’s for dinner?

27 05 2010

Aunt Peka’s Cream of Wild Rice Soup

I do not know how long ago I obtained this recipe from my sister-in-law but its been a while.  This soup is one of our favorites and my kids even eat it!!!  I have long since modified this recipe to make it easy peasy to throw together.  The hardest/longest part is waiting for the rice to cook.

Ingredients:

3/4 c. wild rice

1 tbsp. vegetable oil (I usually use olive oil)

4 cups H2O

1 medium onion (I usually use a sweet one)

4 stalks of chopped celery

2 carrots chopped

(this is my huge cheat – already chopped mirepoix from Trader Joe’s or specialty grocery)

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter

1/2 cup flour

3 cups of hot chicken broth (I use 4 cups or one quart box)

1 1/2 cups of reserved rice stock (I don’t drain rice, typically I have 1-2 cups of rice stock left and I just let it ride)

1 cup 1/2 & 1/2 (I use 2 % milk)

3/4 cup diced ham (I usually used pancetta, you could use turkey, chicken or leave the meat out)

1/2 tsp. ground rosemary  (I usually cut a sprig off the rosemary bush and set on top of soup)

Saute rice in the oil.  Add H2O to rice, Simmer approximately 45 min. – 1 hour.. You are supposed to drain rice saving 1 1/2 cups of rice stock – I find that I usually have that amount and no draining is necessary.

Saute onion, celery, carrot (mirepoix) in soup pot until onion is somewhat transparent.  Turn heat down, mix in flour thoroughly and cook about 5 minutes – stirring frequently (mixture will become thicker).  Do not let flour brown.

Use a whisk or slotted spoon and blend in hot chicken broth & rice stock.  Cook, allowing to thicken slightly.  Add dairy, blending thoroughly.  Add in rice, ham, S&P to taste and rosemary.  Simmer 20 minutes.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

